Winners of the 2023 National Outdoor Book Awards

2024 Entry Forms will be available in early June




Mt. Blackadar







The National Outdoor Book Awards

The National Outdoor Book Awards (NOBA) is the outdoor world's largest and most prestigious book award program.  It is a non-profit, educational program, sponsored by the National Outdoor Book Awards Foundation, Association of Outdoor Recreation and Education, and Idaho State University. 

The purpose of the awards is to recognize and encourage outstanding writing and publishing.  Each fall in early November, the NOBA Foundation announces the winners of the ten categories making up the program, including History, Literature, Children, Nature, Natural History, Journeys, Adventure Guides, Nature Guides, Design, and Outdoor Classic. 

The program has very high standards of fairness and objectivity and has no connection whatsoever to any publisher or publishing business interest.  The winners are chosen by a panel of judges consisting of educators, academics, book reviewers, authors, editors, and outdoor columnists from throughout the country.  Once selected, the books are publicized through social media, wire service stories, press releases, and announcements at related websites.

On this website, you'll find lists of winning books, reviews of past and present winners, cover scans, and links to sources with additional information.  It's our hope that you'll find the website educational and useful.

For members of the media, we have included a press information page with the latest press releases and high resolution scans of winning books.  A special service is also available to website developers.  In return for a link to the NOBA site, web masters are welcome to use our reviews and cover scans on their own sites. 

Publishers and authors will also find application forms, entry rules, and information on how to nominate books for the annual awards.



Frequently Used NOBA Website Links


Media information: press releases, art work, cover scans & press release download area.

Master List of the titles and authors of all past winning books

NOBA Winners in the News:  National coverage

Symbol of Excellence:  The NOBA Medallion

NOBA Judging Process

Application Information:  Policy, Eligibility Requirements and Entry Form

Schedule: When nominations are accepted. When awards are announced.

Contact and Information on NOBA Mailing Lists


Information, images & reviews of the winners of the 2023 National Outdoor Book Awards

Reviews of the 2022 winners

Reviews of the 2021 winners

Reviews of the 2020 winners

Reviews of the 2019 winners

Reviews of the 2018 winners

Reviews of the 2017 winners

Reviews of the 2016 winners

List of winners and reviews from earlier years

NOBA Website Index: Complete and annotated list of all site pages


The NOBA Medallion

The National Outdoor Book Award medallion is displayed on the covers of winning books.

    The NOBA Medallion

The NOBA Medallion: 

A Symbol of Excellence in Outdoor Writing and Publishing


Websites carrying information about the National Outdoor Book Awards are welcome to use the medallion.  Different sized images are available here: medallion images for web use

Additionally, high resolution images are available for print media use: high resolution medallion images



National Outdoor Book Award Links: Past Winners by Year | Master List | NOBA Medallion | Application Procedures  |  Media Information PageNational Coverage of NOBA | Website Index

National Outdoor Book Award Sponsors: Association of Outdoor Recreation and EducationIdaho State University


Mountain & River Photo: Alsek River and Mt. Blackadar, St. Elias Range. Photo by Jim Brock

Top of Page